top of page

Lactose Intolerance? How will I survive?


So, I have recently been diagnosed with having lactose intolerance. To be fair, it has taken well over a year to narrow down the digestive discomfort and pain I`ve been experiencing, however now I actually have a diagnosis - my life is so much better.

So what is lactose intolerance? Lactose intolerance is a common digestive problem where the body is unable to digest lactose, a type of sugar mainly found in milk and dairy products. This may be due to having a lack of the lactase enzyme. Now how much it affects you depends on what you eat and how much lactose you have consumed.

When I first got told I was lactose intolerant I thought 'oh no' and my brain listed off loads of foods I will no longer be able to eat. As I`m sure other people who have this condition have done. But then things started to 'click'. No wonder I was feeling nauseous after EVERY meal as i`m sure every meal had some proportion of lactose in it.

I am so lucky to have been diagnosed at this point as supermarkets are beginning to have much bigger options available. I am also experimenting with my cooking too. I have recently bought some vegan cook books which I am loving. Trying new recipes with ingredients I already have but wouldn't have put together is inspiring.

I am enjoying this new inspiration and motivation I have for food. I am never out of the kitchen - which is good as our new kitchen is almost - very almost fully done!!

It's clear I will 'survive' being lactose intolerant, its just more about awareness and being conscious of what I am eating - particularly when out and about. Both pictures on this blog post are vegan recipes - I have tried savoury options too, they just never last long enough to take a picture as they are sooooo good!

I`ll sign off now as I am about to go and prepare to make a lovely new delicious meal!


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page